#NaNoWriMo Attempt Numero Uno

There has been a project this month, #NaNoWriMo, where I did not succeed in a gargantuan experiment of getting 50k words down on a single novel. I was unable to knock out my inner editor this time, but being my first real foray into trying to make a book actually work I am pretty proud of getting nearly 25k words down. I have a fantastic start to where I want the story to go and think that next year’s NaNoWriMo I’ll be more prepared to just let go and have at it!

The best way to do it is to just shut your eyes or if you can’t do that then get a blindfold (no joke, try it!) and just start typing away whatever parts of the story come to you. They don’t even have to be in order! In fact, start with the ending, why not?! I have the prologue up on Amazon at the following link:

Prologue

I’m going to be continuing forward on it over the next couple months and just try to push through on getting the details worked out. One thing that has helped over the last few years is realizing nothing is ever going to be perfect and in fact sometimes it’s better when it’s not.

Leave a Reply

